The Balancing Act

While our intern year is rapidly approaching its end, I think I can speak for all of us when I say that things are certainly not “winding down” in any way, shape or form.  In fact, as I quickly near the end of this wondrous ten-month experience as an intern, the list of responsibilities and things to do seems to only be expanding, with additions being made hourly it seems.  Between working on tasks in our members’ offices during the typical 9 am – 5 pm workday (or 8 am to 8 pm, depending on the day), fulfilling internship duties such as making travel arrangements and organizing our Spring reception, writing our research papers, and planning for what will follow this internship, it can sometimes seem like you wake up on Monday, blink once, and it’s Friday. 

While this may sound hectic and stressful, I say none of this begrudgingly.  On the contrary, I can truly say that I continue to love every minute of it.  To be an intern, you have to thrive off the energy and fast-paced nature of the environment at Queen’s Park and let what can sometimes become stressful motivate you to put your head down and plow ahead full steam.  And, in light of the many duties you have as an intern, a handful of which I outlined above, one skill that this internship certainly enriches is one’s ability to maintain balance, both professionally and personally.  In any given day, I may have a seemingly-daunting list of things to manage and learning how to better prioritize and successfully tackle each challenge is yet another skill this internship has helped me develop.  It’s an invaluable skill which can contribute to success in any job, and I feel fortunate to have been able to enhance my balancing abilities within the unique and always-exciting world of Queen’s Park.

Emma

Leave a Reply

