Remembrance Day at Queen’s Park

This past week, in addition to my duties in Mr. Hardeman’s office, I attended ceremonies to mark Remembrance Day at Queen’s Park. The first was a ceremony for families of soldiers who have lost their lives in Afghanistan. Although this was very difficult and emotional, I felt that it was very important to see and pay respect to the families of some of our bravest citizens. In addition to this I attended the official Queen’s Park Remembrance Day ceremony. This was the first time I had ever attended the ceremony at Queen’s Park, but I will definitely be back in the years to come. One of the speakers was Major General Richard Rohmer, who spoke passionately about importance of veteran’s affairs and the need for more veteran input. I was humbled to be able to take part in both of these events, and to play a small part in remembering those who have fought, and continue to fight for Canada.

Leave a Reply

