Springing Forward with OLIP

As this week was constituency week, I had the chance to catch up on some files and research tasks. When the House isn’t sitting, there is less immediate, reactionary day-to-day work. On Tuesday, I worked out of Ms. Elliott’s constituency office in Whitby. It was great to meet some other members of her team, and to get a first-hand look of the work undertaken from her community office.

The files I have been working on are giving me a comprehensive overview of some of the issues of concern to people in Ontario. This week, I did some research on wait times for surgery, issues experienced with hospital equipment, and care for individuals who have MS.

I have also been finding some time to do some work on my intern paper; a mandatory component of our OLIP internship. My research focuses on centralization of power with the Premier in the Ontario legislature, and how this impacts Cabinet Ministers. I am just getting started with my interview process – but so far, MPPs, and other Queen’s Park staff have been very helpful in providing me with helpful, relevant information.

Leave a Reply

