Evan: Working for Kevin Flynn

One day, I’m sitting in a creperie on Rue St. Jean in Quebec City with my fellow interns, both Ontarian and Quebecois, discussing our whirlwind travel week, and what MPPs we expect (or hope) to work for – the next, I’m in a boardroom in the Ministry of Training, Colleges, and Universities, flanking my brand new MPP Kevin Flynn, being briefed on the implementation of the Ontario College of Trades, a new self-regulating body for Ontario’s tradespeople. The life of an intern is nothing if not unpredictable! My past few weeks have been spent hanging on for dear life, familiarizing myself with this large new enterprise, almost three years in the making, and all of the many interests at play. Kevin has been great about having me by his side every step of the way, attending Ministry briefings, as well as meetings with College of Trade Board members and the Minister. It is a fascinating project, and I’m excited to be a part of it.

I’ve also been to the constituency four times already. I attended a meeting of the Ontario Parliamentary Youth Advisory Committee, met with a civics class at Oakville Trafalgar High School, and visited the Goodrich Landing Gear facility. Back in Toronto, I attended the launch of the government’s new tuition grant at OCAD University with Kevin and Minister Murray. The lights may be dark in the Chamber, but political life is never dull!

Leave a Reply

