Hibah Is Anxious To Commence

The long awaited day has finally arrived! After receiving several emails from Dr. Henry Jacek reminding us of arrival time and location, and working up a mix of my own nervousness and excitement in anticipation of the big day, it finally happened: we officially commenced the 2012/2013 Ontario Legislature Internship Programme.

As I met my fellow interns at the East doors of the Main Legislative Building, I was relieved to see that I was not the only one wearing a suit that morning. Initially afraid that I had overdressed and already breaking out into a sweat that very sunny morning, we later learned that being in professional attire would be the expectation for us interns at Queen’s Park.

We began the morning getting our pictures taken for our security passes, which would allow us access to various parts of the building, while simultaneously making use of the wait time to chat and get to know each other a little bit. I was met with a couple of familiar faces I had met at the 2012 Spring reception but for the most part, everyone was new to me.

Dr. Jacek and his administrative team – Eithne Whaley, Lorraine Luski, and William Short – spent much of the day outlining the expectations and nature of OLIP as well as helpful tips in order to allow us to succeed in the programme as we eagerly made notes. Complimented with scrumptious desserts and coffee, I found the discussion to be highly engaging and beneficial in preparing us in our many roles as interns.

We were also fortunate enough to sit in on part of a hearing being held by the Committee on Public Accounts with regards to ORNGE. What an exciting way to be engaged in the midst of the action at Queen’s Park on the very first day!

If this was only the first day, I can only imagine what is to come. I am looking forward to getting to know my fellow interns and grateful to be part of the 2012/2013 OLIP class!

Hibah Sidat is originally from Toronto, Ontario. She did her undergraduate work at York University.

Leave a Reply

