Mission: Mississauga — A Week In The Constituency

(Editor’s Note: Having been in our second-term placements for just over a month now, we thought it’d be a good time to check in and update you on how the latter half of the internship is going!)

I have begun my second placement with government-side MPP Dipika Damerla, representing the riding of Mississauga East-Cooksville! I spent my first week in the riding at her constituency office, which gave me a feel for Mississauga. The commute could not have been simpler. A speedy ride on the rocket to Islington, followed by an immediate bus connection on the snazzy new MiWay (Mississauga Transit), dropped me off right in front of the office. The staff are all very friendly, and the office is across the street from Fat Bastard Burrito – which was, deservedly, recently ranked #1 burritos in Toronto.

On my first day, I had the opportunity to sit down with MPP Damerla and discuss her priorities and key projects on which she’d like me to focus. One key focus will be on condominium legislation reform, a topic to which I was exposed in my previous placement. I’m looking forward to assisting with an upcoming condo workshop, a Condominium Act Review public roundtable, in addition to creating a condo owner’s guide. With one in two new home purchases being condos in Ontario, it is evident that condo legislation reform is a key issue.

That same week, Premier Wynne asked MPP Damerla to serve as Parliamentary Assistant to the Minister of Community and Social Services. With Ontario Works reform being a critical component highlighted in the Speech from the Throne, I am really looking forward to exploring this issue in-depth and assisting the member in the government’s review of key recommendations outlined in the recent Lankin-Sheikh report. So, overall, we’re off to an exciting start! From condo reform, to transit issues, and even social services, there is plenty of exciting work to do. Here we go!

Anthony in his second placement with MPP Dipika Damerla.

Anthony in his second placement with MPP Dipika Damerla.

Leave a Reply

